some people like movies

reviews and reactions to the wonderful world of film

The Incredible Hulk (2008)

leave a comment »

I dig super-hero movies.  I’ve never been into comic books like my big brother, but I love the whole ensemble of a super-hero movie.  I remember seeing Spiderman for the first time and loving it.  That is until most of my friends convinced me it was “cheesy.”  So I stopped liking it.  But really, guys, what is a super-hero movie without cheese?  I mean, people refuse to watch Superman just because they cannot accept it that Lois Lane doesn’t recognize Clark Kent without the nerd glasses on.  Well folks? You’re right, it is pretty ridiculous but just deal with it!  I now like Spiderman and will continue to do so no matter what people say.  (Not the same for Spiderman 3, though.  That movie just sucked).

Anyway.

I know what you’re assuming and noooo I didn’t see Ironman 2.  Sadly enough.

I watched The Incredible Hulk.  And you know what?  I liked it.  It’s got a cast I like for one thing: Edward Norton, Liv Tyler, William Hurt, and Tim Blake Nelson.  Bruce Banner (Norton) is living in Brazil seeking a cure to his “unique” condition (results from a gamma test gone wrong… he now turns into a giant green monster when his blood pressure gets too high).  General Ross (Hurt) is searching for him, believing him to be government property.  Aaaaand so that he can create this super army.  The best moments in the movie all involve the mysterious “Mr. Blue” (Nelson) though the CGI is also top-notch.  Hulk is not my fav compared to most other super heros out there (it’s not easy being green) but I thought this adaptation and a smaller green dude created life and emotion behind the monstrosity.  Norton was a perfect fit and gave a good performance.  Plus, Tim Blake Nelson just rocks (O Brother Where Art Thou? anyone?) 6/10

p.s. I guess I’ll just have to settle for a Tony Stark cameo until I can get the real thing.  Two more months ’till I’m home, baby.

Written by laurenthejukebox17

June 11, 2010 at 5:52 pm

Leave a Reply

