some people like movies

reviews and reactions to the wonderful world of film

to go away on a summer’s day never seemed so clear

with 7 comments

Apologies for the petite hiatus.  Unfortunately the rest of the summer will be just as bumpy as I move and start school and whatnot.  But my little vacation time with friends and family was spectacular.  From boogie boarding, swimming, and eating good food, to playing games, watching movies, and shopping it was endless fun.  I even got a hike in with my good buddy.

Also during my absence…. I was featured on The LAMB.  Thanks to all who visited my site during that time, and I hope you haven’t gone too far away!  Tomorrow I am 100% planning on resuming normal movie-reviewing blog posts.

Right now I’m also excited to be watching The West Wing Seasons 3-5 as well as White Collar Season 2 whose Season Premiere aired last week.  I’ve also started my next book in the Newbery Award queue – The Witch of Blackbird Pond.  And finally, the best movie I watched in the past two weeks was probably Shattered Glass (review coming soon!)

Holiday, oh holiday…  I heart summer.

post edit: I’m also avoiding Inception reviews like the plague.  So far I’ve heard nothing but amazing, but when I do see it in a few weeks I don’t want anything ruined for me.

Written by laurenthejukebox17

July 24, 2010 at 12:49 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Lauren –

    Love your blog. You said in your bio that you can’t write. Nuh-uh. This is some great material. And I ought to know, because, frankly, I can’t write either.

    Love your Hitchcock stuff. Not a lot of people have ventured into his British and silent stuff.

    Joel Gunz

    July 24, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    • Thank you for stopping by! I’ve really enjoyed watching a lot of Hitch’s early works if only to watch what he grew into and searching for snippets of familiarity – a filming technique, a recurring type of character, plot devices, McGuffins, etc.

      laurenthejukebox17

      July 24, 2010 at 8:13 pm

  2. Some of the early work was amazingly masterful. The other night I saw the silent version of “Blackmail” on the big screen and was blown away by the expressiveness of the camerawork and the actors’ subtle performance. Silent films weren’t usually known for their nuance. (It also helped that a first-rate ensemble performed with the movie.)

    Joel Gunz

    July 24, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    • Blackmail is one of my favorite earlies. I’d love to see it on the big screen – but I’d especially love to see some of these with subtitles! I love Anny Ondra in both that and The Manxman.

      laurenthejukebox17

      July 24, 2010 at 9:25 pm

  3. I totally agree! Wouldn’t it be great if older films offered, as a standard feature, a subtitle option on the menu? At least, those that don’t offer sound restoration?

    I fell in love with Anny Ondra too. (Does that make her a GGGILF?) Interesting how the first Hitchcock blond was a cutie-pie. I just wanna pinch her cheeks.

    Joel Gunz

    July 24, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    • I didn’t like Juno and the Paycock one bit until I read the plot synopsis and I actually understood what was going on. Those thick Irish accents are difficult to understand – subtitles would save everything! I think that’s why I enjoy his older silents better than his talkies.

      laurenthejukebox17

      July 25, 2010 at 1:02 am

  4. There are plans afoot to do a first-class restoration of nine of his old films. I imagine that will bring a new level appreciation back.

    Joel Gunz

    July 25, 2010 at 9:34 am


Leave a Reply

