some people like movies

reviews and reactions to the wonderful world of film

films that defined us

with 8 comments

I was asked by Marc from the awesome blog Go, See, Talk! to participate in this awesome blogathon: Films That Defined Us.  Man, these are the best things to think about.  Everyone remembers the movies that touched us as kids, movies that we could watch all day long on a Saturday, movies that we’ll always consider special.  My list plays directly off the word define.  I tried to choose movies that I not only enjoyed but movies that shaped the person I am today – or influenced future movie viewing habits.

8 genres, 8 movies.  Ready, set, go!

8. Drama: Apollo 13 (1995)
This is one of the first “adult” movies I remember watching and I thought I was soooo cool to get to see it (I was probably 6 or 7…)  Being already fascinated with space travel (thanks to Star Wars) this raised it a whole ‘nother level – this baby actually happened, it’s history.  Still a favorite movie and a must-see – annnd I still think it should have won Best Picture… (sorry Braveheart).

7. Musical: Thoroughly Modern Millie (1967)
I grew up watching and loving musicals but this was my favorite.  Somewhere between tapping the Tapioca and quirky, kidnappin’, Chinese women I became obsessed with this nonsense.  Today, while it’s since been replaced by West Side Story as my fav, I still know every lyric, I still love Mary Tyler Moore and John Gavin, and it still makes me want to dance.  I would cite it as the biggest influence in my musical-loving life.

6. Animation: Mulan (1998)
I dare say that this movie “defines” me more than just about any other movie because I used to pretend to be Mulan. It also inspired the martial arts side in me to come alive.  I now have a black belt and that passion began sometime while watching this Disney chick kick Hun-trash.  In the animation genre, I’d have to say that there are many that surpass (yeah, Pixar happened), but it’s still a lot of fun.

5. Thriller. Kind of: Rear Window (1954)
And so begins my Hitchcock obsession.  And a love for Jimmy Stewart.  I can’t even remember how old I was when I first saw it but it always stuck with me (and made me never want to watch Perry Mason…)

4. Adventure/Comedy/Romance/Everything: The Princess Bride (1987)
Man, what genre does this film fall under anyway?  It’s got “fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles…” Anywho, this is where I learned to quote movies.  “Anybody want a peanut?” and “Have fun storming the castle!” I used on a daily basis.  It also gave birth to an undying admiration for sword fighting.  Whatever genre it may fall under, it’s made for every kid, teen, and adult.

3. Sports: Hoosiers (1986)
Favorite sports movie of all time.  Bball is also my favorite sport and every time I watched this, I’d want to get out and play.  So you could say it helped improve my ballin’ skills.  Basketball is still very important to me.  As for its genre, it’s simply the best out there.

2. Classic: On the Waterfront (1954)
This one came later on (as in just a few years ago), but has nonetheless made its mark on my life.  This is where I really got the whole classic-movie-gig.  Though I already wanted to marry Cary Grant, this movie made me want to watch absolutely anything made before 1960.  It has defined me by helping me discover the thrill of classics.

1: Sci-fi/Adventure: Star Wars (A New Hope) (1977)
There it is.  The king.  I must have watched the original trilogy of SW over 100 times in my childhood.  I used to pretend to fight with lightsabers and play with my brother’s toy Millenium Falcon.  I had no idea  a movie could be so wonderful and thought there was nothing parallel.  My perfect movie.

Thoughts?

Written by laurenthejukebox17

August 13, 2010 at 3:00 am

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I included The Princess Bride in my list too. And love Apollo 13, I’ve watched it countless times since its release.

    Olive

    August 13, 2010 at 4:35 am

  2. […] Lauren – Some People Like Movies […]

  3. Another Princess Bride pick, but no doubt it’s a beloved favorite of many. Quite a variety you got here, Lauren, I like all of these genres, too. The only genre I don’t really watch are horror & western. Star Wars is definitely indelible in a lot of people’s memories. I watched only bits and pieces of the movies with my brothers too, but yet I still remember a lot of the scenes!

    rtm

    August 13, 2010 at 8:36 am

  4. Nice list Lauren, I specifically like the addition of Apollo 13. Also you’re one of the few who are giving props to Princess Bride…talk about a childhood staple in any decade:)
    But SW as number 1? Sooo typical. J/K Who am I kidding, it should be everyone’s no 1. I did omit it from mine as it was pretty much a given…also I was raised on Jedi:P

    Thanks for participating Lauren:)

    Marc

    August 13, 2010 at 9:41 am

  5. I chose KANE as the classic that gave me an appetite for classics, but WATERFRONT would probably be right behind it. When I finally saw it around age 19 or 20, it assured that never-ending chase to watch the greats would forever dot my moviewatching habits.

    Great choices, great insight, and a great post!

    Mad Hatter

    August 13, 2010 at 11:04 am

  6. The Princess Bride is such an amazing movie, it really is hard to find a genre for it, haha.
    Great list!

    Nahuel F.A.

    August 13, 2010 at 5:15 pm

  7. Rear Window began my affinity for Hitchcock films and Jimmy Stewart as well. Such an intense and exciting thriller. It still gives me goosebumps.

    On The Waterfront made me understand exactly what an incredible actor Marlon Brando really was. Totally blew me away.

    And The Princess Bride is one of the best movies of my youthful memory, and only continues to bring me joy as an adult.

    Really great write up!

    Heather

    August 15, 2010 at 3:19 pm

  8. I am such a terrible blogger and responder. Sorry guys! But thanks for all of your great comments!

    @Marc, thanks again for the invitation to participate, it was such a fun thing to think about. And, yes, Princess Bride is a definite staple.

    @Mad Hatter, there’s just something about that “one” classic that gets you going. Whether Kane or Waterfront or Casablanca or anything it leaves a mark.

    @Heather, Rear Window gives me goosebumps as well. It’s so excellent. And I also agree, Waterfront showed me what all this talk about Brando really was. 😉

    laurenthejukebox17

    August 23, 2010 at 8:56 pm


Leave a Reply

