some people like movies

reviews and reactions to the wonderful world of film

tv rules my world a little too much sometimes: an update

leave a comment »

So I’m in college, right? And when you’re in college that naturally means that you have no time to watch movies because you’re studying 24/7.  Right right right… This is half true.  I figure that I can grant myself 20 (or 40) minutes leisure time after a long day of school and work.  So I’ve been watching a lot of TV.  But really, after 4 40-minute episodes… I should have just watched a movie.  I justify it in that I don’t care as much for TV series so I concentrate less and do a little bit of homework.  With movies I want to soak it all in.

Lately it’s been Prison Break.  I cruised through Season 1 and am now about a third of the way through Season 2.  The only thing that can sufficiently describe this series is “crack cocaine.” It’s soooo addicting but it never leads ANYWHERE.  Just 40-minute segments each with a new twist and cliff-hanger to boot and you just HAVE to see what happens next… every time.  The first season was solid though.  There’s nothing cooler than those tattoos, man.  Michael Scofield (Wentworth Miller) is a good lead guy, Lincoln (Dominic Purcell) is also pretty good stuff.  So far this season (2) hasn’t been disappointing either, though it’s crazy how these shows manipulate you this way and that.

When I only have a 20-minute window though I’m working my way through The Office from Season 1.  Man, I forgot how hilarious this show is.  I hadn’t been too pleased with the latest efforts in Season 6, (I’ve yet to catch up with Season 7) but this is back to the basics.  What a stellar set of characters.  Dwight (Rainn Wilson), Michael (Steve Carell), Jim (John Krasinski).  And I completely forgot that Amy Adams was even in this!  Jim and Dwight together are so great: staplers in Jello, selling Dwight’s personal items in the vending machine, pencil health-hazards, “Um, it’s also Thursday… but Dwight thinks it’s Friday.  So keep that going.”  That “Basketball” episode in Season 1 is classic.  

Quote from the last ep I watched: “I enjoy having breakfast in bed. I like waking up to the smell of bacon, so sue me. And since I don’t have a butler, I have to do it myself. So, most nights before I go to bed, I will lay six strips of bacon out on my George Foreman grill. Then I go to sleep. When I wake up, I plug in the grill. I go back to sleep again. Then I wake up to the smell of crackling bacon. It is delicious, it’s good for me; it’s the perfect way to start the day.”

Written by laurenthejukebox17

February 14, 2011 at 11:55 pm

Leave a Reply

