some people like movies

reviews and reactions to the wonderful world of film

tv-update

with 8 comments

So Prison Break Season 2 has been intense, awesome, whatevs. I’m digging Agent Mahone’s character (William Fichtner) and liking Michael Scofield as per usual… but seriously, can’t they just escape for good? Do they have to come this close every time? So frustrating.  *Post edit. Really guys? Breaking out AGAIN? But in Panama? With essentially the same people? That’s definitely different than before guys… Man.

Another show I dig that is kind of a guilty pleasure of mine is V with Elizabeth Mitchell. I love me some sci-fi.  I know it’s got terrible ratings (it isn’t even on ABC.com anymore…) but I really hope that it can keep going to some conclusion, I’m really invested in this!  And I just want Anna to get what’s comin’ to her.  This show is actually pretty well crafted, I’ve been impressed with it so far (and isn’t quite so manipulative as Prison Break though it still is to some extent, no lies).  Morris Chestnut, Joel Gretsch, and Morena Baccarin are good.  And I love anything with any Lostie (Mitchell).

30 Rock hasn’t been as funny this season, but I do still catch a few laughs from Mr. Donaghy, Liz Lemon, Tracy, and Kenneth.  Kinda glad Matt Damon and Liz broke up – they had potential but that whole plane scene was terrible.  “Never Too Late For Now” was also kind of awesome. Just sayin’

Gotta love the Liz Lemon fanny pack…

p.s. 100th post!

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I for one welcome our new lizard overlords.

    Michael Troutman

    February 28, 2011 at 9:46 am

    • Yeah? You think we’d benefit from their control? I guess I can support that. 😉

      laurenthejukebox17

      February 28, 2011 at 9:48 am

      • If they can bring back Diana then they should bring back Michael Ironside’s character to help the good guys. That and the writers need to stop emulating the writers of Heroes and get a clear direction instead of writing episode to episode.

        It was so much simpler when they were just Fascist lizards who came for our water.

        Michael Troutman

        February 28, 2011 at 12:42 pm

  2. I only know rough outlines of the 1983 series (I’m young haha), but I definitely agree on the writing from episode to episode. Ridiculous. I started watching this for Elizabeth Mitchell and because I like sci-fi. How would you say it compares to the original? I’ve wanted to go through those.

    laurenthejukebox17

    February 28, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    • Just because I can remember my middle school saying that only drug dealers needed pagers and/or cellphones doesn’t mean I am old.

      It’s been awhile since I watched the original, but it was basically two mini-series whereas the new V is a standard television series. They are different beasts. The new V ran through most of the first mini-series’ material in the pilot episode–the fifth column wasn’t introduced until much later in the original–and can’t seem to go any farther. I like the original better because the cast was larger and cut from average Americans rather than a race of blue-eyed models who strike poses and seem impotent when it comes to taking a real stand. The aliens, who were not called V’s in the original, did have emotions rather than the new ones that seem to be evil Vulcans. Also, in the original the kid wasn’t a victim, but a full colaborator and he pays for that with his life. Basically, the players in the new V need to stop dancing around in the middle and choose a side.

      I also liked the old Jewish man who was there to keep drawing parallels between the aliens and Nazi’s. He also introduced the kids to the V symbol which was a WWII symbol of resistance. Plus, the original had Freddy Kruger and the Beastmaster in it. How can you beat that?

      Michael Troutman

      March 1, 2011 at 1:20 pm

      • Well that series just went to the top of my Netflix Instant Watch queue… It sounds like a more complete series altogether, I’m definitely anxious to watch it.
        Without having seen that, though, I am enjoying the remake. It’s kinda crazy but I can’t stop watching..

        laurenthejukebox17

        March 2, 2011 at 7:52 pm

  3. Talking about it with you made me pull it out last night and start re-watching. Here’s a couple of screenshots. Note the symbol on the uniform that is a couple of lines away from a Swastika.




    Michael Troutman

    March 2, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    • That’s it. I’m watching it next. Just gotta finish up with Prison Break then I’m on it.

      laurenthejukebox17

      March 4, 2011 at 10:03 am


Leave a Reply

